Making time count with a Former Fox

“I looked at school as a job,” said Kelly Reilly.

Reilly graduated from Marist in 2009 and since then, has worked full-time as a Production Coordinator for Studio City. Getting from point A to point B, however, is not so simple. Reilly sat down to speak to The Cheat Sheet about the job hunt and just what needs to be done to get ahead.

Q: What was your experience in gearing up to graduate like? How did you prepare?

I had been interning throughout my junior and senior years. My last internship was with CNN’s Showbiz Tonight. I was able to score an interview with CNN for a freelancing PA position, but with the dive in the economy there was a backlog. So, I went on the internet and looked for a job position, even taking a look on Craigslist (small piece of advice: when sending your resume on websites like Craigslist, only list your city and email address; watch out on how much information you give out.) I set a goal that once I graduated I was to submit my resume to five positions a day. It was a bit tedious having to tweak my cover letter almost twenty-five times a week but it was totally worth it!

Reilly majored in Communications with a concentration in Radio/TV/Film.

Q: Did you have much luck with the job hunt?

I actually found my job online.  I applied for the position in June, had an interview in July and started in August. I work for Studio City, a broadcast marketing company for On Air promotions. The company is Bi-Costal with offices in both Los Angeles and New York City. We work with numerous networks such as ABC, NBC, FOX and CBS. In 2009, we were the first marketing agency in North America to win an Emmy(R) Award for On Air Promotion. In August, I was hired as a promotional production coordinator for The Wendy Williams Show in NYC. After four months, Studio City promoted me to work on the Live! With Regis & Kelly account. I have now been with Studio City for little over a year and I’m having the time of my life!

Q: What does your position entail?

I’m the right hand gal to the Promotional Creative Director here at the show. Once a guest is booked to appear on our show, I contact the guest’s publicist to request for the appropriate footage and information as to what they are promoting on Live! with Regis and Kelly. On top of requesting for footage, my daily responsibilities consist of the following: helping the creative director produce scripts, coming up with creative promo lines to read with Kelly and Regis on set, making sure our asset list is updated at all times for the New York and Los Angeles offices, quality checking all rough cuts on promo spots, signing off on all clip request forms for the show as well as working with the web department on getting updated headshots to promote our guests on our online guest guide.

Q: That sounds like a ton of work! What’s your average day like?

I’m up by 5 a.m. and I get into work by 6:30 a.m. to receive promo tapes from Los Angeles. I review the tapes to make sure there are no errors, no glitches; I’m the last filter before millions of our viewers get a sneak peak on what’s coming up on Live! with Regis and Kelly. At 8:47 a.m., I watch the feed go out from our control room. At this time, affiliates across the country take in the promotional commercials that we produce. At 9 a.m. we go live and for the remainder of the show, I stay in the control room to joint down moments of the show that we can use for future commercials. At noon, I meet with Executive Producer Michael Gelman and the rest of the Live! with Regis and Kelly staff to brainstorm for upcoming show. This meeting can last anywhere from 30 minutes to two 1/2 hours. Live! with Regis and Kelly is truly a family and Michael really enjoys the staffs input.

Q: Let’s talk technology. Working in television must require a certain level of knowledge when it comes to various programs and what-not. What sort of innovations, if any, is your company going through and what does that mean for you?

We have now gone full server; we’re now tapeless. This is mostly happening to save money because beta tape is very expensive. Our Los Angeles office can now put it on a site and the New York office can just pull it. I now necessarily don’t have to come in at 6:30 a.m., but maybe at 8 a.m. We can fully preview all of our clips on the computer. I won’t have to walk to the library, but instead just punch in a code. It’s scary- will I ever leave the computer?

I never thought technology would be so intense. Producers can now edit from their desks. They can just pop it on while doing something else. It makes me wonder how much our brain can handle. How much can one person multitask? It’s hard for a lot of people to keep up with, but our generation has grown up on a computer and because of that, there may big transition to younger generation.
Q: What advice would you give to a Marist student about to graduate?

There’s so much available at Marist that you can take advantage of. My number one piece of advice:  GET INVOLVED; it’s never too late! During my years at Marist I enjoyed participating with Marist College Television. MCTV has wonderful facilities and opportunities for students interested in broadcasting! Even though it’s a small television station, having the opportunity to produce, write and edit my own stories for MCTV News was an amazing learning experience and the footage I acquired was a great bonus to my resume.

Interning is really important as well! Being able to work amongst my future colleagues in a professional environment was extremely helpful and really excited me for the working world. My Internship experiences really shaped where I wanted to go. Keep putting yourself out there and stay positive during the job hunt. There are a lot of opportunities but you just have to research, take your time and really get to know the company you’re applying for.

My last and final piece of advice for that senior who’s about to graduate in May is pick up your phone and make an appointment with Career Services. Let them help you with your resume and get some job hunting strategies. Stephen Cole, the Executive Director at Career Services really gave me the confidence to go above and beyond while looking for a job.

Leave a Reply

